2chicksand1oldlady

Two sisters taking care of their mom while trying to live life and find love.

Love Who You Were Created To Be

on September 21, 2014
Self-Love

Wear your flaws & quirks like a badge of honor. They’re beautiful, and make you uniquely wonderful

I posted this image earlier this week on our Facebook & Instagram pages. Self-love has really been on my mind lately; and I wanted to take a moment to let everyone know what I’ve learned over the past two years. I’ve learned you can’t become who you want to be, until you learn to love who you are. I never really understood that until I became a caregiver.

When my mom came to live with us, I really thought I knew how my life would turn out. I thought I was going to spend the rest of my life being a caregiver. I convinced myself that marriage & children just “may not be what God wants for me”; since this was where he placed me. I was completely convinced that caregiving was my “lot in life”; and I needed to make the best of it. Boy, was I wrong.

I’ve learned through lots of tears and counseling. That I was allowing my negative view of myself to make me believe that my life had to be limited because I was a caregiver.I was so filled with guilt over my decisions, that I believed I deserved to live at only a “certain level”. I thought that my only purpose was to work and take care of my family. In my mind, I was a failure on all levels. My family was miserable, my job was suffering, and I was on “auto-pilot”.

I finally started taking control back two years ago. I went to counseling, and realized that I didn’t love myself the way I should. I didn’t understand that God made me “uniquely wonderful”; and that I was given this situation because I could handle it. I discovered, “I wasn’t built to break”. I was built to grow and discover my purpose. So, I began the journey that lead me to that photo. I began praying more, laughing & smiling often, finding hobbies & purpose in my life. I began to live again, and that helped me “love me” again. It’s not easy. But, I’m so thankful to be here.

Caregivers,I want you to be here too! Don’t let anything or anyone make you feel like you’re lesser. You’re “uniquely wonderful” because of who you are, and what you do everyday. You deserve to be happy! Find your strength and see your beauty. It’s not about the exterior beauty. It’s about your heart being so full, that the love and tranquility inside shines through you. That’s what makes you truly beautiful. Take a moment everyday, and look at yourself in a mirror. Tell yourself how amazing today is going to be. Tell yourself how wonderful you are, and that you are doing everything possible to make sure your family is supported. You may not believe it in the beginning.
But, practice makes perfect ;-)!

We Love you! Now love yourself! Until we meet again

xo

Leave a Reply

