2chicksand1oldlady

Two sisters taking care of their mom while trying to live life and find love.

My First Podcast!!

on August 23, 2014

I had the opportunity recently to connect with Cherrie McKenzie. Cherrie is a former stockbroker who made the decision to live her dreams by becoming a licensed therapist, podcaster, and blogger at CoActive Dreams.

CoActive Dreams is based on the theory of using imagery to first picture the things you want for your life and then the means to attain them using the power of your imagination to command your focus to make peak performance less difficult. Cherrie has been able to use her business experience and education to develop tools and techniques to coach and develop others who are trying to pursue their dreams. I was so honored when Cherrie reached out to me about being featured on her blog. Cherrie thought my journey as a caregiver needed to be told, since so many people are facing or will be facing this challenge.

As she noted in her post that accompanies our podcast. According to an AARP study from 1990-2010, the 80-plus population increased by 62%. These numbers have strong implications for our society as many people find themselves now a part of a new “Sandwich generation”, where the adult children will now have to provide care for their parents. Many of us in that generation will have families and small children to add to the dynamic. All of these make for a class of caregivers who are pushed to their limits, with the feeling of no relief in sight.

Caregiving is never going to be easy. But, it can be manageable. There is life while being a caregiver. That’s why I share my story with you. I want to show the world, and continuously reinforce in myself that there is a large world out there. We just need to tackle it. My life changed in three hours. I hope you will take thirteen minutes to listen to our podcast; and hopefully find a little encouragement and hope in our chat that can change your life/perspective :).

Please check out Cherrie’s site, CoActive Dreams or you can follow her on Twitter at @CherrieMcKenzi2

Cherrie-McKenzie-265x300

Thanks again Cherrie for a wonderful podcast!

Until we meet again!

XO

2 responses to “My First Podcast!!

  1. Rothesia says:

    Pamela, this was a great podcast! It was both informative and inspirational. I am happy to hear that you didn’t allow what others thought when it came to taking care of your family. A great point that you made was that “life is not over when you’re a caregiver” and that you have to continue to pursue your dreams and goals. You are a prime example of someone who has not allowed your role as a caregiver to stop you, but has used it to live your live with even more passion and drive. Kudos and much success to you!

    Like

    • Pamela says:

      Thank you Rothesia! This journey has pushed me to limits, I didnt know I had. But, I’m so thankful for it. Life is short, and I feel blessed to have the opportunity to pursue it on all levels. Thanks for your support & encouragement.

      Like

Leave a Reply

