2chicksand1oldlady

Two sisters taking care of their mom while trying to live life and find love.

Do You Feel Like You’re Always Working?

on January 26, 2014
Image

I’m updating my “resume” 🙂

 

Doesn’t it feel like the work is never done sometimes?

There are emails and mountains of paper work to do on our jobs to ensure we’re adding value. At home we have to navigate mountains of laundry, dinners, and details of the days with a single bound. There is always something to do. Especially, when you’re a caregiver. It’s like adding another job on top of the others you balance. But, today my Mom told me about a new job that I need to be focused on too, finding a husband? 

I know I’ve covered this in another blog. But, my Mom is laser focused on my love life. It’s like having a counselor, teacher, and drill Sargent rolled into one person. Extra special emphasis on “Drill Sargent”. Because she has given me “orders” that i need to make this happen. She doesn’t use the “Paris Island” technique. She is more adept at using the ultimate lethal weapon “Mother Guilt”. It’s the most powerful weapon in the world, and no one is immune to it :-).

My mom is concerned that she will be in heaven by the time I get married. So, according to her I need to work find a husband with the same effort I put into my job. Wow, I didn’t know you were supposed to “work” to find a husband. I thought that when a “man finds a wife, he finds a good thing”? Don’t get me wrong I know I have to be available emotionally and physically. But, I didn’t know I need to work it like I’m trying to get a bonus or promotion.  Do I need to update my resume for this new job? Should I add this to my LinkedIn Profile? Also, how do I fit this into my schedule? I guess there really is going to be no rest for the weary or single :-). 

Don’t get me wrong, I know love is not going to come knocking at my door. But, I have enough jobs. What happened to the days when love was a normal part of life, and marriage was where you put in the “work”?  I hope that doesn’t sound too much like rainbows and fairy tales. I guess I better update my “resume”. Until we meet again!

xo

Leave a Reply

