2chicksand1oldlady

Two sisters taking care of their mom while trying to live life and find love.

Sometimes You Have to Encourage Yourself

on December 9, 2013

Today has led me to reflect on “Encouraging Yourself”. My Mom and I went to the doctor to get her blood work results. Diabetes is doing great. Levels are nice and low, almost pre-diabetic. But, her kidneys are getting worse. She has stage 3 kidney failure. Stage 3 kidney failure is just one step away from complete renal failure and dialysis. Definitely not what I wanted to hear. However, in spite of the negative report,there is good news.

The doctor thinks this can be reversed by my Mom increasing her water intake. She is dehydrated and her kidneys are paying the price. Isn’t that a blessing? To think if you just change your behavior, you can probably correct this condition. That was music to my ears. But, all my Mom could say was, “I guess I’m going on dialysis?”. How do you claim that defeat without a fight? What were you hearing that I didn’t hear? I heard there was still a chance; and she heard that the battle was over.

Well, I told her that we won’t be claiming that lie. That she is going to change her behavior and get past this battle. God’s not done with you yet. He’s not done with any of us. We just have to be willing to fight the fight. We have to be willing to speak a word over ourselves. Especially, when situations challenge us. We have to be willing to take the reins over our destiny and never give up. Only God controls our destinies, and we have to be strong enough to stand in that knowledge to win the battle. Until we meet again!XO

Leave a Reply

